Are you unable to view a piece of content in your Instagram DM?
Instagram allows you to share posts via direct messages.
You can share your own posts and other users’ posts.
To do so, tap on the airplane icon under a post, select the user(s) that you want to share it with, and select “Send”.
The user will then be able to view the post and the original poster.
However, some users are unable to view the content that’s shared.
In this guide, you’ll learn why Instagram says “Content unavailable cannot find this user” in your DM and how to fix it.
Why does Instagram say that the content is unavailable?
Instagram says that the content is unavailable because the original poster blocked you.
Otherwise, the post was deleted by the original poster or taken down by Instagram.
If you’re blocked, you won’t be able to view any content that’s posted by the user.
On the other hand, posts that are deleted or taken down will no longer exist on Instagram.
What does “Content unavailable cannot find this user” mean on Instagram?
“Content unavailable cannot find this user” means that the original poster has blocked you on Instagram.
As a result, you won’t be able to view their profile and the content that they post.
Otherwise, the original poster’s Instagram has been deactivated or deleted.
It can also mean that the original poster’s account is suspended or the post was taken down by Instagram.
1. The original poster blocked you
If the content is unavailable, the original poster might have blocked you on Instagram.
When you’re blocked, Instagram will tell you that they cannot find the user.
In addition, you won’t be able to view the original poster’s profile and content.
Hence, if a user direct messages you one of the original poster’s posts, you won’t be able to see it.
2. Deactivated or deleted
The original poster’s profile might be deactivated or deleted.
If so, all of their posts will be permanently deleted from Instagram.
As a result, you won’t be able to see their posts anywhere on the app.
For example, posts that are shared via direct messages will no longer be available.
3. Suspended account
If the original poster’s account is suspended, you won’t be able to see their posts in your direct messages.
When an account is suspended, its posts will be temporarily deleted—but you won’t be able to view them.
An account can be suspended for breaking one or more of Instagram’s community guidelines and terms.
If the original poster appeals and gets resuspended, their posts will be restored.
4. The post was taken down
Instagram has a list of community guidelines that everyone needs to follow.
This includes no illegal content, hate speech, violence, and more.
If a post violated a community guideline, it will be taken down by Instagram.
Hence, if a post is unavailable, it might be taken down.
How to fix content unavailable on Instagram
To fix content unavailable on Instagram, ask the sharer to take a screenshot of the post and send it to you.
This only works if the person who sent you the content is able to see it.
If both you and the sharer cannot see the post, it means that the original poster might be suspended on Instagram.
If that’s the case, you won’t be able to see the post unless the sharer took a screenshot of it prior to its unavailability.
How to Fix “You can’t message this account unless they follow you” on Instagram
How to Fix “You’ve reached the message request limit” on Instagram
How to Fix Instagram DMs Stuck on Loading Screen